Close Window

Claire Bailey

State of Arkansas

Claire Bailey, director of the Arkansas Department of Information Systems (DIS) and Arkansas Chief Technology Officer (CTO), leads more than 250 information technology (IT) professionals responsible for the state network and telecommunications services supporting Arkansas's public services.
As CTO, Ms. Bailey is the appointed chairperson for the Arkansas State Technology Council and serves on the board of directors for the Information Network of Arkansas (INA). In that role, she provided guidance and strategic direction in the development, the state’s official web site, managed by INA. In 2011, was named the nation’s best state web portal in the Center for Digital Government’s national Best of the Web competition. received second place honors in the 2010 competition, third place in 2009, and ranked in the top 10 among state websites the years prior to 2009. Government Technology magazine selected her as one of the Top 25 Doers, Dreamers & Drivers in Public Sector Innovation for 2011.
Governor Mike Beebe appointed Ms. Bailey to the Arkansas Health Information Exchange Council to advise and assist in the development of a statewide health information exchange for Arkansas. She also serves as a member of the Cyber Infrastructure Task Force, the Connect Arkansas Board, Arkansas Homeland Security Executive Committee, and the Arkansas Geographic Information Systems Board. Ms. Bailey is a member of the Arkansas Interoperable Communications Executive Committee which oversees the Arkansas Wireless Information Network (AWIN). In 2008, AWIN received an award from the National Association of State Chief Information Officers (NASCIO) for Outstanding Achievement in Information Technology.
Ms. Bailey is a member of the Arkansas InfraGard Chapter, an organization sponsored by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, to share cyber security information, the Association for Users of Telecommunications and Information Systems, and the Central Arkansas Project Management Institute where she earned certification as a Project Management Professional. Ms. Bailey is an executive committee member of the NASCIO and is past president of the National Association of State Technology Directors (NASTD). 
As director of DIS, Ms. Bailey focuses on providing customer centric services and realigning financial processes for compliance with state and federal regulations. Under her leadership, DIS became the first state agency to receive the coveted 2011 Governor’s Quality Award for Performance Excellence by the Arkansas Institute for Performance Excellence (AIPE). DIS earned Achievement Awards from the program in 2008, 2006, and 2005 respectively. In 2012, Bailey was appointed to serve for three years on the AIPE board of directors.
Ms. Bailey holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Computer Science from Texas A&M University at Commerce. She is a seasoned IT veteran working as a systems analyst at Texas Instruments and as a senior systems analyst at J.B. Hunt Transport. She has worked for the state of Arkansas since 1991.